The Kona Inn was built by the Inter-Island Steamship Navigation Company in 1928 as a means to expand the growing Hawaiian tourism market to the Kona area. Featuring a stunning setting on the coast, the Kona Inn was originally a 20 room hotel that featured a saltwater pool, tennis courts, and a cocktail lounge. At the time Kona was a highly remote destination and the Inn wasnâ€™t even able to have fresh water piped in until 1953. Still, the Kona Inn remained a popular destination for adventurous visitors, and in particular, fisherman. The Inn served as the unofficial headquarters for the billfish tournament as Kona developed a reputation as one of the premier marlin fishing areas in the world. The Kona Inn stopped housing guests in 1976, but still remains a popular destination, largely due to the lavishly refurbished, original restaurant (circa 1928) that reopened in 1979, offering unmatched sunset views and a premier dining experience.